· 

Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

Do you know this feeling? Outside it's cold and rainy and just dreary in general. You're hiding away inside, maybe drinking your (third) cup of coffee and you're thinking, man, all I need right now is a GOOD chocolate chip cookie. Like, a big one with crispy edges and a soft interior that melts in your mouth and big pieces of chocolate in every bite. True story, when I was a kid, I was obsessed with those huge Subway cookies. Somehow those were the ultimate, American chocolate chip cookie to me. Until I browsed the web and finally came up with a recipe that is now my own ultimate recipe.

 

I'm so glad that I own an oven today and that I can bake whenever I want to, I don't have to run to any kind of bakery to get a good cookie when the craving hits. And boy, does it hit me a lot! So, this is a tried and true recipe and I encourage you to try it, no matter the weather. It will instantly lift your mood and satisfy your sweet tooth. Try them fresh out of the oven, you won't be disappointed. Have a great week!

 

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

makes about 18 cookies

 

Ingredients:

  • 250 g all-purpose flour
  • 170 g soft butter
  • 100 g brown sugar
  • 50 g granulated sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp corn starch
  • 200 g chocolate of your choice (I use milk chocolate), in chunks 

Preparation:

  1. Preheat your oven to 160°C. Line two baking trays with parchment paper.
  2. Using a stand mixer fittes with a paddle attachment or an electric whisk, cream together the butter and the two sugars until light, fluffy and incorporated. That takes about 4 minutes. Add the egg and the egg yolk and cream together.
  3. In a separate bowl, add the dry ingredients: the flour, bqaking soda, salt and corn starch and whisk together.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and cream together, until you can't see any more streaks of flour.
  5. Add the chocolate chunks and fold into the dough. The dough should be smooth.
  6. At this stage, you can wrap the whole dough into plastic wrap and leave in the fridge for up to two days. When ready to bake, form rounds of about 2cm in diameter and put them onto the baking tray with enough space in between, as these will spread while baking.
  7. bake the cookies for 8-12 minutes in a preheated oven. Do not overbake, the cookies will set a little more once they cool down! After baling, let them cool for about 10 minutes and then transfer them to a cooling rack. Store in an airtight container.

Write a comment

Comments: 0